side menu icon


Chief Executive Officer

Claudia Peña Porretti - Claudia earned her J.D. from Indiana University McKinney School of Law, her bachelor’s in business administration from Indiana Institute of Technology, and in 2012, she attained the designation of Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE). Claudia has almost 20 years of nonprofit management experience, including administration, fundraising, governance, finance, operations, strategic planning and event planning.  

Claudia launched the Victims Immigration Services program, while serving as the Executive Director of La Esperanza Community Center in Georgetown, Delaware, offering wraparound holistic services for Latina victims of domestic violence, and created the PASA (Prevent Alcohol and Substance Abuse) program, an evidence-based substance abuse prevention program for Hispanic youth.  A strong advocate for children, she advocated for the Unaccompanied Children who migrated in 2014 from Mexico and Central America to Sussex County, supported Latina girls through a collaboration with Girls Inc. of Delaware, implemented various youth programs, and promoted awareness of English Learners’ educational issues.

One of Delaware Today’s 2013 Women in Business and a 2015 recipient of Girls Inc.’s Strong, Smart and Bold Award, Claudia serves as a Trustee for the University of Delaware, a Trustee for Woodlawn Trustees, and Vice Chair for Delaware Alliance for Nonprofit Advancement (DANA).

Board of Directors

Board Officers

Board Chair
Katya A. Nieburg-Wheeler

1st Vice Chairperson
Jenny Teal

2nd Vice Chairperson
Sarah Long

Eleanor Benjamin Torres, Esq. 

Dale Hoops

Board Members-at-Large
  • Stacy Conn
  • Temeka Easter Rice
  • Peggy M. Geisler
  • Greg Fogarty
  • Gail Foltz
  • Jessica Jordan
  • Tavanya Lockett
  • Keisha Morris
  • Amber Young
  • Ellen Whitman
  • Kimberlee Ziolkowski
Girl Scout Representatives to the Board
  • Cheyenne Brown
  • Nina-Simone Pettis

Are you interested in joining our Board of Directors or serving on our Board Development Committee? Please complete this application.